Report on the 2017 Conference

By Zoe Raos | Posted: Monday March 26, 2018

Dr Zoe Raos reports on the highly successful Annual Scientific Meeting held at SkyCity in November last year

The organising committee from Waitemata DHB worked for two years to brainstorm themes, secure speakers and put together an exciting programme. 425 delegates attended, a record number, to hear from international speakers (Prof Michael Bourke, Prof Siew Ng, Prof Mark Morrison, Prof James O'Beirne, Prof Jean-Michael Pawlotsky, Julie Duncan , Charles McCafferty and Vince Fragomeli ) and local experts. Cutting edge topics, including the microbiome, hepatology, advanced endoscopy and inflammatory bowel disease made for an enlightening curriculum, presenting us with a real mix of science, clinical and practical gastroenterology. Abstracts were submitted from nursing, medicine and science, which correlated to posters and oral presentations of high calibre. This year the Young Investigator abstracts were assessed prior to the meeting so that winners could prepare and present their work along international and local experts. This highlighted their significant contributions, made for a smooth and integrated programme, and will continue for 2018. The gala dinner was the social highlight. The Waitemata team continued the tradition of choreographed group entertainment with (apologies to Bon Jovi) a live rendition of ‘Scoping on a Prayer’, dragging the Game of Thrones-themed punters onto the dance floor after a busy academic programme. Thanks to Claire Bark and the team from Conference Innovators who once again provided a wealth of experience and advice, regularly meeting the committee in and out of hours, solving problems and making the whole programme flow effortlessly. This meeting would not be possible without our sponsors, so thanks again for your ongoing support for our society and college, and to our gastroenterology community.

2017 ASM  Award Recipients

NZSG Janssen Research Fellowship - Dr Marius van Rijnsoever

Validation of novel colorectal cancer screening markers using faecal volatile gas detection

Luminal Young Investigator Award -Dr  Marius van Rijnsoever

  • Runner up Luminal Young Investigator Award - Dr Ming Han Lim

Hepatology Young Investigator Award - Dr Ibrahim Hassan

Luminal Posters of Excellence

  • Dr Safina Gadeock
  • Ms Rachel McQuade
  • Dr Sara Miller
  • Miss Emma Paulides
  • Dr Andrew McCombie
  • Ms Phoebe Heenan

Hepatology Posters of Excellence

  • Dr Steve Johnson
  • Dr Medul Lamba - two posters of excellence
  • Dr Wayne Bai
  • Dr Clare Russell

Image Gallery