Honorary Members 2023

Posted Monday December 11, 2023

President, Professor Catherine Stedman welcomed Dr Richard Stein to the Honorary Members Role thanking him for his many contributions to the profession and gastroenterology community. Dr Stein studied and began his journey in the USA where he has been a staunch advocate for Chrohn's and Colitis patients. Upon arriving in Aotearoa he continued his advocacy work. Richard has been involved in Camp Purple in New Zealand since 2015, is Chair of Crohn's and Colitis NZ and is a member of the National IBD Working Group. He has been a member of the Society since 2011 and is Chair of NZCCRTGE.

Image by: NZ Gastro Office

The Society also welcomed Dr Anthony (Tony) Smith to the Honorary Role. Dr Smith trained in Aotearoa and England. Tony has worked in Nepal as a Physician and Paediatrician and was a Locum and Sr. Lecturer in Middlesex Hospital. Dr Smith trained in gastroenterology at Norwick Park Hospital. His research interests included Helicobacter Pylori (1986) and Pancreatic Cancer (1989). Dr Smith retired from Waikato Hospital after 30 years of service in 2017 and he remained actively involved in teaching on a voluntary basis after his retirement. Tony has been a member of the Society since 1995 and was a member of the Executive from 1998 to 2002.

Image by: NZ Gastro Office


Related Articles

NZSG is now an ECCO member

Tuesday April 16, 2024

Recently, the New Zealand Society of Gastroenterology joined forces with ECCO as an affiliated society. This comes with ...

Members in the News

Read more »

NZSG-Janssen Research Fellowship

Tuesday March 26, 2024

The Fellowship providing much needed gastroenterology research funding is 10 years old!

Events Members in the News + 1 More

Read more »

Announcing Our President Elect 2025

Wednesday December 13, 2023

At the NZSG ASM held on 7 December members voted Professor Andrew Day to the post of President Elect 2025

News Members in the News

Read more »