2023 Janssen NZSG Research Fellowship Grant Recipient

Posted Thursday January 26, 2023

Research Project: “Development of an IFN signature panel to predict clinical non-response to anti-TNF treated inflammatory bowel disease patients and its role in modulation of the epithelial innate response to commensal metabolites”.

This research aims to:

  1. Identify specific targets of the Type I and II IFN signalling pathways in IBD non-responders to build an IFN gene signature panel that predicts clinical non-response in IBD patients treated with anti-TNFs.
  2. Define a role for selected Type I and II IFN targets in priming the epithelial response to develop tolerance to the commensal metabolite, butyrate, in IBD non-responsive patients, by reprogramming the innate epithelial secretome.

Key researchers are from University of Otago:

Safina Gadeock; Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Principal Investigator. Gemma Laws; Department of Microbiology and Immunology; PhD student. Gemma will be assisting in setting up the 2D patient-derived organoid monolayers with IFN treatments.
Roslyn Kemp; Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Associate Investigator. Roslyn will co-lead the overall design of the project and has established tikanga protocols in the lab following consultation with Takiwai Russell-Camp.
Michael Schultz; Department of Medicine; Associate Investigator. Michael is a gastroenterologist and Head of Department of Medicine. Michael will provide clinical samples and oversee all ethical issues for the research.

The Janssen- NZSG Research Fellowship is awarded annually with an award of up to $65,000. This award is funded between NZSG and a generous gift from Janssen Pharmaceutical. To find out more about the fellowship please see the NZSG webpage


Related Articles

Commercial composting in the Green Endoscopy Unit- the next goal for waste reduction?

Friday April 19, 2024

Written and Shared by the NZSG Sustainability Working Group.

News Working Group Updates

Read more »

Gastro News from Around the Globe

Wednesday April 17, 2024

The Society receives information from many organisations around the globe as well as closer to home. We'd like to share ...

News Grants_Research

Read more »

NZSG is now an ECCO member

Tuesday April 16, 2024

Recently, the New Zealand Society of Gastroenterology joined forces with ECCO as an affiliated society. This comes with ...

Members in the News

Read more »